Day 1: Great North Museum

I write from a B&B in South Shields, having made my way from Newcastle on the Metro. I could have sworn the tannoy on the Metro at one point said “this is heaven!” But then I realised it was Hebburn. We also went through Jarrow, but didn’t have any whiskey (“whack for my daddy-o, there’s whiskey in the Jarrow”).

Anyway, then on to the Great North Museum: Hancock. This is a great place, and has lots of great stuff from Hadrian’s Wall, along with plenty else. It had a renovation some years ago, and did a really good job.

They have an interactive screen where you can write your name on a brick of the wall and see how far Hadrian’s Wall has got since the exhibit started. It made me realise just how far I’ve got to go!

There is also a scale model of the wall, which was a useful thing for me to look at to remind myself of the order of the places.

Took plenty of photos. Mainly on the proper camera, but only one  

 on my phone!

Tomorrow, Arbeia, Segedunum, Condercum (South Shields, Wallsend, Benwell) and Newburn.

One thought on “Day 1: Great North Museum

  1. You missed Jarrow! And you could have made much better puns at the expense of the Venomous Bede (my favourite monk)… Just catching up on your journey, backwards, and have really enjoyed it. Where has the week gone? You are inspiring a trip in me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

