Segovia: an aqueduct with ‘wow’ factor

It feels a little odd being so far away when my first home city, Manchester, is in so much pain, and my heart goes out to everyone affected, but my Sabbatical goes on, and I have reached a location I have wanted to visit for many years. Whenever Roman aqueducts are mentioned, Segovia is cited as one of the most impressive. I can attest that it really is breath-taking.
I have been to a lot of places with ancient ruins, where sometimes what is amazing is the fact that they’re Roman, or Greek, or Minoan – normal everyday buildings and artefacts, still existing all these years later. The aqueduct in Segovia is remarkable in and of itself. The scope and creativity that went into its construction are phenomenal in any age, and the antiquity only adds to the ‘wow’ factor.


From the 1st century AD, it is fully 894m long, 28m high at its highest point, and had no mortar whatsoever holding it together. The Romans really knew what they were doing when building arches. It is understandably a World Heritage Site. There were originally also underground canals connected to it which provided water for the whole town as well as carrying the water further away.


Segovia is a lovely place, and I am amazed I’ve never been here before, really. It also has an Alcazar with fairytale-style turrets and a history going back to Roman times, a fantastic cathedral and some great tapas bars!


I have to confess, though, I’m slightly concerned at my room number in my hotel…

2 thoughts on “Segovia: an aqueduct with ‘wow’ factor

  1. I’m glad you liked Segovia. I loved my day there in February. The aqueduct was as amazing á I expected and the rest of the city far more attractive and interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

