Day 18: Keener Classics Summer Sojourn 2023

Naxos – Bus Tour Day; the Temple of Demeter, and some courgettes six years later.

Greetings from Naxos! Day 18 of our adventure and it’s been great exploring the island. Only a couple of days left of the holiday…

An early start, meeting our tour guide Dimitri and our bus driver Georgios. Off to see the Temple of Demeter which was really impressive – more details below if you’re interested. Then an old olive press, a pottery workshop, a kitron distillery (and a chance to buy some to take home), an old village with an old archaeological museum, a restaurant by the north coast seaside, and a late 7th century kouros still in situ at the marble quarry. Dimitri was a great guide, and we learnt a lot.

Once home, we headed out to a place I went last time I was in Naxos (Naxos: Cycladic art and the Portara): Maro’s tavern. I had fried courgettes again and they were great again. Then a large beef fillet which was delicious but filling.

Pictures of the Day

The Temple of Demeter (more information below)
Oil lamps at the museum at Apeiranthos
The kouros in the quarry.
Dimitri demonstrates the old olive-squashing equipment
More details on the temple of Demeter – a video I took as I walked around, accompanied by the text from the site boards.

Highlight of the Day

Undoubtedly the walk around the (roughly square) temple of Demeter. Always great to see a Greek temple, but extra special to see one that is on an island, and more unusual.

What I Learned Today

Lots. I learned about square temples, for example.

Looking Ahead

A boat trip around to the south of the island and across to Koufonissi tomorrow, then Athens the following day ahead of the flight home on Saturday.

Final Thoughts

I had a massive piece of beef fillet this evening for dinner, and I can no longer stand up. Good night.

Comments

I’d love to hear from you – have you been to Naxos? What was your experience? If you have any recommendations for my next stop, let me know in the comments below!

Leave a comment